A DE964 Certificate of Completion is a legal document, required by the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) as part of the Permitting & Licensing process for prospective teen drivers.
The Texas Department of Public Safety requires (2) separate DE964 Certificates of Completion;
- One (1) for the Learner License (Permit) Application and
- One (1) for the Provisional License Application
Our course includes both DE964 Certificates, at no additional cost and in a convenient, downloadable format. Note that we do NOT charge an extra fee for a “Duplicate” DE964.
In order to qualify for the two (2) DE964 Certificates of Completion required by DPS for the Permit and License applications, every Texas teen, ages 14-17, must enroll in a State-Approved Driver Education course, like ours, and meet specific course requirements.
Once a student enrolls in our program and meets the specific course requirements, our interactive system will generate 2 separate, electronic DE964 certificates that parents are able to conveniently download directly from their student’s Dashboard; no waiting for the mail.
The first (1st) DE964 Certificate (for Learner License ONLY) is required for the Learner License “Permit” application and is conveniently made available for download on the Student Dashboard, immediately after the “Official Permit Test” is passed.
The second (2nd) DE964 Certificate (for Driver License ONLY) is required for the Texas “Provisional” Driver License Test and MUST be REQUESTED by the “Instructor” from the Student Dashboard, ONLY after the “student” has successfully completed Modules 1-12 (32 Hours of Classroom Instruction) and all of the Behind-the-Wheel Instruction (44 hours).
Please Note: that the “student” must be at least 16 years of age to apply for a Texas “Provisional” Driver License.
e do NOT charge additional fees for the “Official Permit Test” or multiple downloads “Duplicate” of the DE964 certificates of completion.
We know teens are eager and excited to get their license and take to the open road.
And we’re certainly thrilled to help them get there, but first…there are a few simple steps and requirements to complete, before they’re able earn a DE964 and get behind-the-wheel.
- Purchase the PTDE Program Guide from the Texas Department of Licensing & Regulation
- Enroll at ParentTaughtDrivingCourse.com
- Successfully complete Module 1 (6 Classroom Hours)
- Pass the Class C Road Rules & Signs “Official Permit” Test – (Free through our site)
- Submit the DE964 & all other Required Documents to the Department of Public Safety
- Boom! Buckle Up & Proceed with Caution!
Per state law, a student may begin our course at age 14, but MUST be at least 15 years of age to test and apply for a “Permit.”
We are a family owned, Texas based company with 30 years of experience in drivers education.
Our State-Approved, Parent Taught Driving Course is Easy, Affordable, Convenient and allows Parents and Students the flexibility necessary to work at their own pace.
The Fastest Way to Get Your Texas Permit & License! Let’s Get Started!
If your account is expired and you need a copy of your DE964 Certificate of Completion; CLICK HERE.